The name of this small village originates from the old name “Es Bios”, which means birch-trees. Accordingly, the name “Les Bioux” is due to the fact that many birch-trees grow by the lake.
The charming little church of Les Bioux dates from 1698. A copper roof replaced its original shingled roof in 1936. The church bell dates from 1744 and was a gift from the bailiff of Romainmôtier, Sir De Diesbach. This listed building housed the Bourbaki soldiers who entered Switzerland in 1870.
The main activities of Les Bioux, as of the other villages in Vallée de Joux, are agriculture and watchmaking. The last-mentioned was established in our valley in the seventeenth century.